180 East 5th Street, Suite 950
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Phone: (651) 296-2254 | Fax: (651) 296-5866
Email: lawyerregistration@mbcle.state.mn.us

Office Access Limited; Staff Available Remotely

Public Access to the Board Offices is currently limited. We encourage you to contact us by email at lawyerregistration@mbcle.state.mn.us if you have any questions or concerns. Telephone calls may go to voicemail, but will be returned as quickly as possible. Please call before coming to the Board offices. Every person visiting these offices must wear a face mask. If a health condition precludes you from wearing a mask, please contact the Board office in advance of visiting so additional precautions can be made. Staff is available 8-3:30 by appointment. Lawyers due to report October 1, 2020, are strongly encouraged to complete their lawyer registration statements electronically. As of March 16, 2020, lawyers may use Am Ex to pay in addition to Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and EFT.

MN Supreme Court seeks two public members for the MN State Board of Continuing Legal Education

Click here for more details

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us @MNlawyerreg

Lawyer Registration Rules Amendment

The Court has issued an Order amending the Lawyer Registration Rules effective July 1, 2018. The changes include the following:

  • Increasing the retirement age from 62 to 68 and eliminating the gainful employment provision
  • Reducing the number of fee categories, including the elimination of separate categories for non-resident
  • Revising the fee schedule to be a chart rather than a narrative
  • Including in the Rules specific language related to the military exception
  • Formalizing the policy of limiting the number of past due annual registration statements to 6 years
  • Clarifying the limitations on disclosure of demographic information

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us @MNlawyerreg

Lawyer Registration Rules Amendment

Effective 7/1/2017, a late fee of $75 will immediately be assessed to any lawyers who do not meet the registration statement deadline. However, there will now be a 1-month grace period before administrative suspension. See the Supreme Court order.

New monthly admission ceremony location

Starting February 7, 2017, the monthly admission ceremony is being moved from the Minnesota Judicial Center to the Supreme Court’s courtroom at the Capitol:

27 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., 2nd Floor

St. Paul, MN 55155

For more details, visit the Monthly Ceremonies page.

Non-payment suspension for statements due 1/1/17

As of January 6, 2017, all unpaid registration fees due January 1, 2017 are considered late and the attorneys’ licenses have been transferred to a non-payment suspension. To remove a non-payment suspension, the registration fee and a $75 late penalty must be paid.  Pay using the Online Lawyer Registration System.

Amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration

Amendments to the Lawyer Registration Rules have been ordered on September 29, 2015, with an effective date of 1/1/2016.

Additional amendments to the Lawyer Registration Rules have been ordered on December 29, 2015, with an immediate effective date.

 

2014 LRO Annual Report

Read the 2014 LRO Annual Report.

Some documents require a PDF reader to view properly.