Do the fees I pay to the Minnesota State Bar Association (MSBA) cover my Minnesota lawyer registration fees?
No. This office is not associated with the Minnesota State Bar Association. You must pay your annual registration fees to this office or your license will be suspended.
How do I transfer from an Inactive status to an Active status?
Click here for instructions on transferring from an Inactive to Active (Practicing) status.
My professional liability insurance information has changed; how do I update it?
Click here for instructions on updating your professional liability insurance.
Do I need to complete the Minnesota trust account information on the Lawyer Registration statement?
Yes. All lawyers must complete and sign the Minnesota trust account information every year. Only lawyers with Retired or Disabled status do not need to complete the Minnesota trust account information. If the registration statement is received without the Minnesota trust account information completed and signed, both the statement and payment will be returned for completion.
What if my Minnesota trust account information has not changed from my last registration statement? Do I still need to complete this section?
Yes. The Minnesota trust account information (including the firm name, name of financial institution, and all Minnesota trust account numbers) must be reported every year.
Does the Lawyer Registration Office accept electronic payments?
What credit cards are accepted for online payments?
Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. We do not accept American Express.
Does the affidavit for Retired or Disabled status need to be notarized?
No. Effective October 1, 2006, the Retired and Disabled affidavits are no longer required to be notarized.
What happens if I do not complete all the required steps and sign my registration statement?
If an incomplete statement is received, the fee will not be processed, and both the statement and payment will be sent back for completion. To reduce the possibility of this happening, complete and pay for the annual registration fees online.
What happens if I do not complete all the required steps and pay the annual fee by the due date?
If your annual registration fee is not received on or before the due date, you will be assessed a late penalty of $75. If the annual registration fee and late penalty payments are not received before the first day of the month following the due date, you will be placed on suspension for non-payment status on that date. Your right to practice law in Minnesota will be automatically suspended and you will be assessed a $100 reinstatement fee in addition to the late penalty.
Why did I receive a Certificate of Registration letter instead of a license card?
For lawyers in an Inactive status, a Certificate of Registration is issued instead of a license card. Only lawyers authorized to practice in Minnesota courts are issued license cards. Inactive statuses includes any lawyer who is under the CLE Restricted status, Resident-Not Practicing in Minnesota, Out-of-State Not Practicing in Minnesota, Retired, or Disabled.
How do I confirm that my registration payment has been processed?
The date of the last payment processed is included on each lawyer’s record if you search for your name in the Lawyer Registration Database. We recommend looking at this record for confirmation of payment before calling the Lawyer Registration Office.