180 East 5th Street, Suite 950
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
Phone: (651) 296-2254 | Fax: (651) 296-5866
Click the topics below for more information.
Even if your last name has changed, the renewal period remains the same.
|Alphabetical Group||Fee Due Date|
|A thru E
F thru K
L thru P
Q thru Z
At least one month prior to the due date, annual registration statements are mailed to the address you have on file, or if you have elected to pay online, you will receive an email notification. It is your obligation to immediately notify the Lawyer Registration Office if your postal address or your email address changes. Failure to receive a Lawyer Registration statement or notice of registration shall not excuse payment of the fee.
If you have questions about when your fee is due or if you have any past due fees, please contact our office.
|Practicing (More than three years in any Jurisdiction)||$248|
|With Yearly Gross Income Less Than $25,000||$220|
|Admitted to Practice Less than 3 Years (in any Jurisdiction)||$114|
|With Yearly Gross Income Less Than $25,000||$177|
|Retired Status – Fee Exempt||$0|
|Disabled Status – Fee Exempt||$0|
|Late Penalty for failure to pay the required registration fee by the due date||$75|
|Reinstatement Fee to return from administrative suspension for registration noncompliance||$100|
Click here to view historic fee schedule.
To access the payment system, click here.
Payments made online may be made by either electronic fund transfer from your bank account or by credit card. The online registration system accepts Visa, MasterCard, and Discover Card for payment.
Registration fees paid by mail must be submitted to our office with a completed, signed registration statement. Any registration statement not fully and properly completed and signed will be sent back to you for completion, and must be resubmitted and received by the filing deadline to be timely.
Registration fees paid by mail must be received by the due date to be considered timely. If your registration statement is not received by the due date, your registration statement and payment will be returned to you for payment of the additional $75 late fee. If the statement, annual fee, and late fee are not received before the first day of the month following the due date, your license will be automatically suspended on that date. There is a $100 reinstatement fee.
Fees paid by mail may be paid by check, money order, or the exact amount of cash.
Please note our office DOES NOT offer payments by phone or a bank’s bill pay service. We also do not accept foreign money orders. To pay by credit card, you must pay online.
Make checks payable to the Minnesota Supreme Court.
Use the Lawyer Registration Database to search for your record and look for the “Last Payment” field. This search is accessible to the public.
You can print receipts for payments made by logging into your Lawyer Registration record.
Fill out the blank registration form completely. Make sure to include on the front page of the statement: name, address, lawyer ID number.
Do not use this blank registration statement if you have past due fees.
If you have any questions on when your fee is due or if you have any past due fees, please contact our office.
Some documents require a PDF reader to view properly.