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Preamble 

Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota, disciplinary proceedings, and continuing 
legal education for members of the legal profession shall be conducted in accordance with 
rules promulgated by this court. 

 
 
Rule 1. Definitions 
 
A. "Active Status" means a lawyer or judge who (i) has paid the applicable required 

lawyer registration fee for the current year, (ii) is in compliance with the requirements 
of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education or of continuing judicial 
education, (iii) is not disbarred, suspended, or on permanent disability status pursuant 
to Rule 28 of the Rules on Lawyers Professional Responsibility, (iv) is in compliance 
with Rule 1.15(i), Minnesota Rules of Professional Conduct, and (v) is in compliance 
with Rule 6 of these rules. A lawyer or judge on active status is in good standing and 
is authorized to practice law in this state. 

 
B. "Inactive Status" means a lawyer or judge who has elected to be on inactive status 

pursuant to Rule 2C1, 2C2, 2C3, 2C4, 2C5, or 2C6 of these rules and who meets the 
criteria set forth in subparts (i) through (v) in the definition of Active Status, above. A 
lawyer or judge on inactive status is in good standing but is not authorized to practice 
law in this state. 

 
C. "Judge" means any judicial officer, referee, or other hearing officer employed in the 

judicial branch of the State of Minnesota. 
 
D. "Lawyer" means a person admitted to practice law in this state pursuant to the Rules 

for Admission to the Bar. 
 
E. "Lawyer Registration Statement" means a document prepared by the Lawyer 

Registration Office that informs a lawyer or judge of the lawyer registration fee due 
and on which the lawyer or judge can certify the lawyer's or judge's status and 
compliance with Rule 1.15(i), Minnesota Rules of Professional Conduct, and Rule 6 of 
these rules. 

 
F. "Non-Compliant Status" means a lawyer or judge who has not met all the criteria to 

be on active status or inactive status. A lawyer or judge who is on non-compliant 
status is not in good standing and is not authorized to practice law in this state. 

 
G. "Online Registration System" means the Internet lawyer registration system 

maintained by the Lawyer Registration Office. Lawyers and judges who elect to use 
this system manage the information required by these rules in their lawyer profile, 
complete their annual registration statement, and pay their annual fee electronically. 

 
H. "Private Client." For the purpose of reporting professional liability insurance 

coverage, the term "private client" excludes the clients of government lawyers and 
house counsel. 
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Rule 2. Registration Fee 
 
A. Required Fee. 

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the 
bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering continuing 
legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund legal services 
programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer and each 
judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee. 
 

B. Active Statuses. 
Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $248 or such lesser 
sum as is set forth in the following sections. 
 
1. Active Status - Income Less Than $25,000. 
 A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross 

income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 
per year must pay an annual registration fee of $220. 

2. Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty. 
 A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States must 

pay an annual registration fee of $125. 
3. Active Status - Lawyers on Fulltime Military Duty - Income Less Than 

$25,000. 
 A lawyer or judge on fulltime duty in the armed forces of the United States who 

certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the 
income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual 
registration fee of $97. 

4. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years. 
 A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years 

in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an annual 
registration fee of $114. 

5. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years - Income Less 
Than $25,000. 

 A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three years 
in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies that 
the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a 
spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of 
$100. 

 
C. Inactive Statuses. 

 
1. Inactive Status - Out-of-State. 
 A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or 
judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently 
in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota and (iv) is not 
engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee 
of $205. 
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2. Inactive Status - Out-of-State - Income Less Than $25,000. 
 A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the 

date the lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer or 
judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is currently 
in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota, (iv) is not 
engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the lawyer's or 
judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less 
than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $177. 

 
3. Inactive Status - Minnesota. 
 A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident 
of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold 
judicial office in this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this 
state must pay an annual registration fee of $205. 

 
4. Inactive Status - Minnesota - Income Less Than $25,000. 
 A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the date the 

lawyer's registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a resident 
of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold 
judicial office in this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this state, 
and (v) certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, 
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an 
annual registration fee of $177. 

 
5. Inactive Status - Retired. 
 A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Retirement 

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive 
status, (ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the 
practice of law in this state, (iv) is at least 62 years of age, and (v) is retired from 
any gainful employment is exempt from payment of any registration fee during 
the period of the lawyer's or judge's retirement. A Retirement Affidavit, once filed, 
is effective for each succeeding year unless the lawyer or judge transfers to 
active status pursuant to section C7 of this rule. Notwithstanding the above, a 
lawyer or judge who has filed an affidavit in accordance with this rule may 
engage in the pro bono legal representation of pro bono clients pursuant to Rule 
14 of the Rules of the Minnesota State Board of Continuing Legal Education. 

 
6. Inactive Status - Permanent Disability. 
 A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office a Disability 

Affidavit stating that the lawyer or judge (i) is currently on active or inactive 
status, (ii) does not hold judicial office in this state, (iii) is not engaged in the 
practice of law in this state, and (iv) is totally disabled is exempt from payment of 
any registration fee during the period of the lawyer's or judge's disability. A 
Disability Affidavit, once filed, is effective for each succeeding year unless the 
lawyer or judge transfers to active status pursuant to section C7 of this rule. 
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7. Transfer from Inactive Status to Active Status. 
 A lawyer or judge who is on inactive status must, prior to practicing law or 

assuming judicial responsibilities, (i) promptly notify the Lawyer Registration 
Office, (ii) complete a lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay the applicable 
registration fee, (iv) complete all continuing legal education (CLE) requirements 
and be transferred to CLE active status, (v) comply with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC, and 
(vi) comply with Rule 6 of these rules. 

 
D. Allocation of Fees. 

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule:  
 
(1) Payments of $248 are allocated as follows: 

a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $1 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
d. $12 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008 through 

July 1, 2010 registration deadline cycles); 
e. $75 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 

grant program purposes;  
f. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 

program; and 
g. $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office.  

(2) Payments of $220 are allocated as follows: 
a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $1 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
d. $12 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008 through 

July 1, 2010 registration deadline cycles); 
e. $47 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 

grant program purposes;  
f. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 

program; and 
g. $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office. 

(3) Payments of $205 are allocated as follows: 
a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $1 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
d. $12 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008 through 

July 1, 2010 registration deadline cycles); 
e. $71 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 

grant program purposes;  
f. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 

program; and 
g.  $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office. 

(4) Payments of $177 are allocated as follows: 
a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $1 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
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d. $12 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008 through 
July 1, 2010 registration deadline cycles); 

e. $43 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 
grant program purposes;  

f. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 
program; and 

g. $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office.  
(5) Payments of $125 are allocated as follows: 

a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $0 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
d. $63 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 

grant program purposes;  
e. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 

program; and 
f. $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office.  

(6) Payments of $97 are allocated as follows: 
a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $0 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
d. $35 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 
grant program purposes;  
e. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 
program; and 
f. $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office. 

(7) Payments of $114 are allocated as follows: 
a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $1 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
d. $12 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008 through 

July 1, 2010 registration deadline cycles); 
e. $37 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 

grant program purposes;  
f. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 

program; and 
g. $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office.  

(8) Payments of $100 are allocated as follows: 
a. $21 to the State Board of Law Examiners; 
b. $1 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education; 
c. $26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board; 
d. $12 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008 through 

July 1, 2010 registration deadline cycles); 
e. $23 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for civil legal services and 

grant program purposes;  
f. $13 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee for a lawyers assistance 

program; and 
g. $4 to the Lawyer Registration Office. 
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E. Due Date. 
Fees under this rule are due and payable on or before the first day of January, April, 
July, or October of each year as requested by the Lawyer Registration Office. 
 

F. Notification of Fee Due. 
The Lawyer Registration Office must, annually one month prior to the date due, either 
mail a lawyer registration statement or email a notice of registration to each lawyer 
and judge then in good standing except those who have elected inactive retired status 
pursuant to section C5, above, or permanent disability status pursuant to section C6, 
above. A lawyer registration statement must be mailed to the lawyer's or judge's postal 
address on file with the Lawyer Registration Office. For those electing to use the 
online registration system, a notice of registration must be sent to the lawyer's or 
judge's email address on file with the Lawyer Registration Office. For those electing 
not to use the online registration system to complete the annual statement and pay the 
annual fee, a $10 charge shall be added to the annual registration fee, and shall be 
paid and allocated to the Lawyer Registration Office at the time of registration. Failure 
to receive a lawyer registration statement or a notice of registration shall not excuse 
payment of the fee. 
 

G. Obligation to Notify of Address Change. 
Every lawyer or judge must immediately notify the Lawyer Registration Office of any 
change of postal address. Every lawyer or judge who elects to use the online 
registration system must immediately update their online registration profile to reflect 
any change of their postal address and email address. 
 

H. Penalty for Failure to Comply - Non-Compliant Status - Administrative 
Suspension. 
A lawyer or judge who fails to meet all of the criteria to be on either active or inactive 
status is placed on non-compliant status, and the right to practice law in this state is 
automatically suspended. A lawyer or judge on non-compliant status is not in good 
standing. A lawyer or judge on non-compliant status must not practice law in this state, 
must not hold out himself or herself as authorized to practice law, or in any manner 
represent that he or she is qualified or authorized to practice law while on non-
compliant status. Any lawyer or judge who violates this rule is subject to all the 
penalties and remedies provided by law for the unauthorized practice of law in the 
State of Minnesota. It is the duty of each judge to enjoin persons who are not on active 
status from appearing and practicing law in that judge's court. 
 

I. Reinstatement. 
A lawyer or judge who is on non-compliant status, who seeks to be reinstated to active 
status or inactive status, must (i) notify the Lawyer Registration Office, (ii) complete a 
lawyer registration statement, (iii) pay all delinquent registration fees, (iv) pay the 
applicable registration fee for the current year, (v) pay a late penalty of $75, (vi) 
complete all CLE requirements and be transferred to CLE active status, (vii) comply 
with Rule 1.15(i), MRPC, and (viii) comply with Rule 6 of these rules. The Lawyer 
Registration Office may, in hardship cases, waive payment of delinquent lawyer 
registration fees and late penalties. All late penalty payments are allocated to the 
Lawyer Registration Office to defray registration costs. 
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Rule 3. License 
 
A. Upon payment of the lawyer registration fee and completion of a lawyer registration 

statement, the Lawyer Registration Office must issue and mail to the lawyer or judge a 
license in such form as may be provided by this court, showing the license status of 
the lawyer or judge. 

 
B. Upon request and the payment of a fee of $25, the Lawyer Registration Office must 

provide to any lawyer or judge a certificate of active status and good standing, 
provided the lawyer or judge is entitled to the same. 

 
 
Rule 4. Special Fund 
 
All money collected from applicants for admission to the bar or as an annual registration fee 
or as payment for a certificate of active status and good standing as provided herein shall 
be deposited in a special fund, as desired by this court, and shall be disbursed therefrom 
only upon vouchers signed by a member of this court or a representative of State Court 
Administration to whom the court has delegated its authority to sign for purpose of this rule. 
 
 
Rule 5. Nonresident Counsel 
 
Nothing herein shall prevent any court in this state from granting special permission to 
nonresident counsel to appear and participate in a particular action or proceeding in 
association with an authorized lawyer of this state. 
 
 
Rule 6. Annual Reporting of Professional Liability Insurance Coverage 
 
Each lawyer on active status must certify on the lawyer registration statement 
 

(1) whether the lawyer represents private clients; 
(2) if the lawyer represents private clients, whether the lawyer is currently covered by 

professional liability insurance; 
(3) if the lawyer is covered by professional liability insurance, the name of the 

primary carrier. 
 

Each lawyer on active status must notify the Lawyer Registration Office either by letter or 
by updating the lawyer's online registration profile within 30 days if the insurance policy 
providing coverage lapses, is no longer in effect, or terminates for any reason, unless the 
policy is renewed or replaced without substantial interruption. 
 
 
Rule 7. Access to Lawyer Registration Records 
 
Lawyer registration records are accessible only as provided in this rule. 
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A. Public Inquiry Concerning Specific Lawyer. Upon inquiry, the Lawyer Registration 
Office may disclose to the public the name, postal address, admission date, continuing 
legal education category, current status, professional liability insurance coverage 
information submitted under Rule 6 of these rules, and license number of a registered 
lawyer or judge, provided that each inquiry and disclosure is limited to a single 
registered lawyer or judge. 
 

B. Publicly Available List. The Lawyer Registration Office may also disclose to the public 
a complete list of the name, city, and zip code of all registered lawyers and judges. 

 
C. Lists Available to Continuing Legal Education Providers and the Courts. Upon written 

request and payment of the required fee, the Lawyer Registration Office may disclose 
to a bona fide continuing legal education business a complete list of the name, postal 
address, admission date, continuing legal education category, current status, and 
license number of all registered lawyers and judges. The Lawyer Registration Office 
may also disclose the same information to a court or judicial district solely for use in 
updating mailing addresses of lawyers and judges to be included in a judicial 
evaluation program. 

 
D. Trust Account Information. Trust account information submitted by lawyers and judges 

as part of the lawyer registration process is not accessible to the public. 
 
E. Use in Case Management Systems. Lawyer registration records may be imported into 

case management systems for the purpose of linking lawyers to cases and storing 
accurate identification information. When imported into a case management system, 
lawyer registration records may thereafter be disclosed in connection with 
corresponding case information provided that bulk distribution of such records must 
comply with Rule 7.B. of these rules. 

 
 
Rule 8. Supervisory Authority  
 
Subject to the general direction of the Court in all matters, the State Board of Continuing 
Legal Education shall have supervisory authority over the administration of these Rules, 
and may adopt policies, procedures, and forms not inconsistent with these Rules. 
 
 
Rule 9.  New Lawyer Admission Fee 
 
The initial fee for new admittees to the Minnesota bar, payable at or before the time of the 
new admittee’s admission, is $40. The Lawyer Registration Office shall allocate $25 of this 
fee to the State Board of Law Examiners and $15 of the fee to the Lawyers Professional 
Responsibility Board. 
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