
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

ADMl0-8002 

ORDER PROMULGATING AMENDMENTS 
TO THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT 
ON LA WYER REGISTRATION 

The Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration impose annual fees on 

licensed Minnesota attorneys to fund the operations and expenses of the supreme court's 

regulatory boards. Rule 1, Rules on Lawyer Registration ( explaining the purpose of 

registration fees, "to help defray the cost" of regulating the profession). Thus, collected 

registration fees are allocated among the court's regulatory boards and offices. See Rule 

1 0(A), Rules on Lawyer Registration. 

Annual registration fees were last increased 12 years ago, in 2009, by imposing a 

temporary increase to fund public defender services ($75), and a permanent increase to 

fund the Legal Services Advisory Committee ($25). Order Temporarily Increasing 

Lawyer Registration Fees, No. Cl-81-1206 (Minn. filed Nov. 4, 2009); Order Extending 

Increase in Lawyer Registration Fees, No. ADMl0-8002 (Minn. filed Mar. 2, 2011). After 

the temporary fee increase for public defender services expired in 2013, annual registration 

fees decreased, and those fees were reduced slightly again starting in January 2016, Order 

Promulgating Amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration, No. 

ADMl0-8002 (Minn. filed Sept. 29, 2015). In recent years, the operating costs of the 

court's regulatory boards have been managed by reallocating collected fees among the 

Boards, rather than through fee increases, see Order Promulgating Amendments to the 
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Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration, No. ADMl0-8003 (Minn. filed 

July 19, 2019) (reallocating collected fees between the Client Security Board and the 

Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility); Order Promulgating Amendments to the 

Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration, No. ADMl0-8002 (Minn. filed 

July 27, 2017) (reallocating collected fees among the Board of Law Examiners, the Client 

Security Fund, and the Lawyer Registration Office). 

Based on recommendations by the State Court Administrator's Finance Division 

and a review of the budget needs for the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility and 

the Legal Services Advisory Committee, the court has determined that increases in the 

annual registration fees are necessary to meet the current and projected expenses of those 

offices. Although the increases are lower than in previous years-ranging from $10 to 

$22-spreading the total increase out over a few years will limit the financial impact for 

licensed attorneys while still providing crucial funding support for the work of these 

offices. Thus, the increases approved here today will be implemented over a 3-year period, 

beginning with the October 1, 2021 registration cycle. The rules as amended are shown 

below effective as of October 1, 2021; effective as of the October 1, 2022 registration cycle; 

and effective as of the October 1, 2023 registration cycle. 

The exception to the fee increase announced here is for the fee imposed on newly 

admitted lawyers. This fee is imposed at the time of the new lawyer's admission to the 

bar, and is currently structured to facilitate the registration process. Lawyers who wish to 

retain a Minnesota license will then pay the annual registration fee in the next registration 
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cycle. As this is an admission fee, rather than a registration fee, the increases set out below 

will not apply to the new lawyer admission fee. 

Based on all the files, records, and proceedings herein, and pursuant to the inherent 

authority of this court to regulate the practice of law, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer 

Registration are amended as shown in the attachment to this order. The Rules as amended 

are prescribed and promulgated to be effective for Lawyer Registration Statements that are 

due to be filed or are filed on or after October 1, 2021, and thereafter, for registration 

statements due to be filed by October 1, 2022 and by October 1, 2023, as applicable. 

Dated: June 23, 2021 
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BY THE COURT: 

Lorie S. Gildea 
Chief Justice 



* * * 

Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration 
Adopted August 4, 1970 

With amendments effective October 1, 2021 

Rule 5. Active Status Fees 

A. Admitted to Practice Law Three Years or More. A lawyer or judge on active status 
who has been admitted to practice law for three years or more in any state, the District of 
Columbia, or any territory must pay an annual registration fee of $:248-256. 

B. Income Less Than $25,000. A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the 
lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 
less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $~227. 

C. Admitted to Practice Law Less Than Three Years. A lawyer or judge who has been 
admitted to practice law less than three years in each and every state, the District of 
Columbia, or territory in which the lawyer or judge has been admitted, including 
Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $-t--l-4118. 

Rule 6. Inactive Status Fees 

A. General. A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before 
the due date for payment of the lawyer's registration fee an affidavit stating that the lawyer 
or judge (1) is currently in good standing with the Lawyer Registration Office, (2) does not 
hold judicial office in this state and does not sit by special appointment, and (3) is not 
engaged in the practice of law in this state, must pay an annual registration fee of $;w.§.211 
to remain in good standing as an inactive Minnesota lawyer. 

B. Income Less Than $25,000. A lawyer or judge who files an affidavit in compliance 
with Rule 6A and who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, 
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual 
registration fee of $-±-R 182 to remain in good standing as an inactive Minnesota lawyer. 
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Rule 10. Allocation of Lawyer Registration Fees 

A. Registration Fees. Lawyer registration fees paid pursuant to these Rules will be 
allocated as follows: 

$~256 $~227 $~211 $-l-'.7-1182 $-H-4118 $40 
payments payments payments payments payments payments 

State Board of Law $29 $29 $29 $29 $29 $25 
Examiners 
State Board of $1 $1 $1 $1 $1 $0 
Continuing Legal 
Education 
Lawyers $128 $128 $89 $89 $32 $15 
Professional 
Responsibility 
Board 
Client Security $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
Fund 
Legal Services $75 $47 $71 $43 $37 $0 
Advisory 
Committee 
(for civil legal 
services and grant 
program purposes) 
Legal Services $H21 $H20 $H19 $-H_li $H17 $0 
Advisory 
Committee 
(for a lawyers' 
assistance 
program) 
Lawyer $2 $2 $2 $2 $2 $0 
Registration Office 
TOTAL $~256 $~227 $~211 $-l-'.7-1182 $-H-4118 $40 
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* * * 

Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration 
Adopted August 4, 1970 

With amendments effective October 1, 2022 

Rule 5. Active Status Fees 

A. Admitted to Practice Law Three Years or More. A lawyer or judge on active status 
who has been admitted to practice law for three years or more in any state, the District of 
Columbia, or any territory must pay an annual registration fee of $~263. 

B. Income Less Than $25,000. A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the 
lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 
less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $~234. 

C. Admitted to Practice Law Less Than Three Years. A lawyer or judge who has been 
admitted to practice law less than three years in each and every state, the District of 
Columbia, or territory in which the lawyer or judge has been admitted, including 
Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $-H-8-121. 

Rule 6. Inactive Status Fees 

A. General. A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before 
the due date for payment of the lawyer's registration fee an affidavit stating that the lawyer 
or judge (1) is currently in good standing with the Lawyer Registration Office, (2) does not 
hold judicial office in this state and does not sit by special appointment, and (3) is not 
engaged in the practice of law in this state, must pay an annual registration fee of $;H-!.217 
to remain in good standing as an inactive Minnesota lawyer. 

B. Income Less Than $25,000. A lawyer or judge who files an affidavit in compliance 
with Rule 6A and who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, 
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual 
registration fee of $-1-8± 187 to remain in good standing as an inactive Minnesota lawyer. 
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Rule 10. Allocation of Lawyer Registration Fees 

A. Registration Fees. Lawyer registration fees paid pursuant to these Rules will be 
allocated as follows: 

$~263 $~234 $;H-l-217 $-l-&2-187 $-H-&121 $40 
payments payments payments payments payments payments 

State Board of Law $29 $29 $29 $29 $29 $25 
Examiners 
State Board of $1 $1 $1 $1 $1 $0 
Continuing Legal 
Education 
Lawyers $-l-±&135 $-l-±&135 $8995 $8994 $~35 $15 
Professional 
Responsibility 
Board 
Client Security $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
Fund 
Legal Services $75 $47 $71 $43 $37 $0 
Advisory 
Committee 
(for civil legal 
services and grant 
program purposes) 
Legal Services $21 $20 $19 $18 $17 $0 
Advisory 
Committee 
(for a lawyers' 
assistance 
program) 
Lawyer $2 $2 $2 $2 $2 $0 
Registration Office 
TOTAL $~263 $~234 $;H-l-217 $-l-&2-187 $-H-&121 $40 
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* * * 

Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration 
Adopted August 4, 1970 

With amendments effective October 1, 2023 

Rule 5. Active Status Fees 

A. Admitted to Practice Law Three Years or More. A lawyer or judge on active status 
who has been admitted to practice law for three years or more in any state, the District of 
Columbia, or any territory must pay an annual registration fee of $:2-6:3-270. 

B. Income Less Than $25,000. A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the 
lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is 
less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $~241. 

C. Admitted to Practice Law Less Than Three Years. A lawyer or judge who has been 
admitted to practice law less than three years in each and every state, the District of 
Columbia, or territory in which the lawyer or judge has been admitted, including 
Minnesota, must pay an annual registration fee of $-1±±-124. 

Rule 6. Inactive Status Fees 

A. General. A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before 
the due date for payment of the lawyer's registration fee an affidavit stating that the lawyer 
or judge (1) is currently in good standing with the Lawyer Registration Office, (2) does not 
hold judicial office in this state and does not sit by special appointment, and (3) is not 
engaged in the practice of law in this state, must pay an annual registration fee of $W223 
to remain in good standing as an inactive Minnesota lawyer. 

B. Income Less Than $25,000. A lawyer or judge who files an affidavit in compliance 
with Rule 6A and who certifies that the lawyer's or judge's gross income from all sources, 
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual 
registration fee of $-1:-'.7& 192 to remain in good standing as an inactive Minnesota lawyer. 
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Rule 10. Allocation of Lawyer Registration Fees 

A. Registration Fees. Lawyer registration fees paid pursuant to these Rules will be 
allocated as follows: 

$±@270 $~241 $W223 $-l-8-'.7-192 $+2+124 $40 
payments payments payments payments payments payments 

State Board of Law $29 $29 $29 $29 $29 $25 
Examiners 
State Board of $1 $1 $1 $1 $1 $0 
Continuing Legal 
Education 
Lawyers $~142 $~142 $~101 $9499 $:¼38 $15 
Professional 
Responsibility 
Board 
Client Security $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 
Fund 
Legal Services $75 $47 $71 $43 $37 $0 
Advisory 
Committee 
(for civil legal 
services and grant 
program purposes) 
Legal Services $21 $20 $19 $18 $17 $0 
Advisory 
Committee 
(for a lawyers' 
assistance 
program) 
Lawyer $2 $2 $2 $2 $2 $0 
Registration Office 
TOTAL $±@270 $~241 $W223 $-l-8-'.7-192 $+2+124 $40 
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